My eyes are getting old, but it was a nice day anyway!


So the boys and I went to our yearly eye exams today, and I found out that I will no longer be wearing glasses just for computer work. It’ll be an all day affair now. Apparently I have 20/15 vision and 20/20, which is fabulous, but the farsightedness and astigmatism are causing problems. Apparently that’s not too uncommon for someone who’s in their 40’s.

That doesn’t bother me so much. What really gets me is that my #1 son (by birth order) is as blind as a bat, and had to get glasses last year. I had no idea his sight was so awful, but it sure goes a long way to explain how bad his grades were, and how much better they are now. But it looks like they’ve gotten a little worse, and while the Dr. says that’s normal, it still bothers me that he’s denied the freedom of not having to need to wear them. #2 son has good vision and no apparent trouble on the horizon…what caused #1 to have such trouble? Was it all the huge amounts of heavy hitting anti-biotics he had to take as a kindergartner when he was so sick, and now he’s dealing with the consequences at age 16? Maybe…who knows. I guess I just feel he’s been cheated somehow. Poor kid has had enough to deal with.

On the brighter side of things we had a nice day out, the three of us. After the eye appointments we had a bite to eat at the Food Court, and then went shopping for clothes. I think the best part was that the boys got along, we got what we needed and managed to have a good time doing it. It was a rare day, and a memory I’ll hang on to for when times aren’t so fun. After all the flack of this last year, we have finally settled into a routine and things are better. I’m looking forward to finding out how good they will get.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

