Leftovers for breakfast, and remembering Grandma


Well, I was looking for something to eat for breakfast this morning, and didn’t feel like eating any of the usual fare. I opened the fridge and spied the left over potatoes and carrots from a roast chicken I cooked.  So, I nuked them, salted and peppered them, applied a generous amount of  butter,  and ate them all up… loving every bite. Yum!

Some people cringe at the thought of eating leftovers for breakfast, but why the heck shouldn’t you eat them for breakfast? As far as I am concerned, cereal, while sometimes tasty, isn’t the end-all-be-all of the breakfast kingdom. So what about pancakes, waffles, toast, eggs…all of those breakfasty favorites? Again, very tasty, but sometimes too time consuming to prepare, and heavy in the belly. I like a quick breakfast that is tasty and doesn’t leave me feeling like I just ate a brick.

Something else to consider…I associate traditional breakfast foods (like pancakes, waffles, eggs and toast, etc) with the big breakfasts my grandmother used to make. Breakfast at Grandma’s was always a big deal, and she would never take no for an answer when it came to receiving and eating copious amounts of 2nd’s and 3rd’s. I could never tell her no. She must have been convinced that I could never get enough to eat  because she would always tell me, “I bet you have room for just another!”  One time in particular when I was about 10, I had to plead with my Mom to intercede on my behalf, because Grandma just wouldn’t let me go from the pancake orgy she had constructed that morning. I remember after I was finally released from eating any more, I was so miserable I laid around for hours trying to digest it all. To this day, I never force my kids to eat anything as a direct result of my early experience with Grandma and her sisters making sure everyone had “enough to eat”. Not that I wasn’t ever grateful for their cooking,  but a person can only hold so much.

I don’t want to give the impression that Grandma was a bad cook. She was a fabulous cook, and she lived to cook for anyone who would hold still long enough for her to whip something up. She really enjoyed cooking for a large group. She always had cookies or cake ready-made, in the event company should stop by.  I remember spending a lot of time in the kitchen with her as I was growing up. Many of my early baking lessons came from hanging out with Grandma in the kitchen, and it was always a joy. She’s been gone since 1996, I miss her something fierce.

So I wonder what Grandma would have to say about my eating leftovers for breakfast and allowing my kids to forage for themselves, rather than putting the effort into whipping up a gigantic sit-down breakfast for everyone. I’m sure she would fuss, but I think that as long as nobody’s ribs were sticking out, she might come around to my way of thinking.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

