Sparrow's Ramblings

Life how I see it from my nest on the High Plains

Something about a truck…

1 Comment


I’ve been missing something lately, and it took me hearing a local band play the song “Something About a Truck” for me to figure it out.

Actually, I’ve been missing a lot of things lately, but this little something had been niggling at the very back of my consciousness for awhile. More about the other stuff later…what I have unpacked today is that I truly am a cheap date.

You see, I am a very simple girl with simple needs. I don’t dig fancy stuff, don’t care to wear make-up or curl my hair…God forbid I have to put a skirt on!

Tonight my Flirt and I are out listening to a live band in a small bar, playing pool and drinking pop. He’s playing against a guy from the next table over, and I was sitting here listening to the aforementioned song. It hit me like a ton of bricks just how much I miss driving in the country with my Flirt in his big old redneck truck. Or, the motorcycle. And there’s nothing quite like taking his Giant Dog for a walk on a quiet back road.

I miss the sunshine on my face. I miss the sound of the crickets and frogs in the sloughs, and the lovely breezes that blow in from across the fields. Winter really sucks the life out me, and makes me crave the simplest of pleasures.

Oh it’s going to be a long wait for Spring, but it’s coming… It’s coming.
I am so grateful that I can hang on to that.

There are enough simple pleasures to keep me balanced out until then, but when summer comes, and my Flirt and I can take a drive in the country, or take his Giant Dog for a walk down a country road at the end if a long day, I won’t just feel balanced out… I’ll be blissed out.

Here’s hoping you find that thing, that very simple thing, that gives you so much joy you just can’t hold it all. Blessings…

20140111-225440.jpg

Author: Sparrow

I am a 43 years young, and a mother of two amazing young men. Having discovered the joys of blogging, I write about whatever crosses my brain on a given day.... It's all about me, my family, and life on the High Plains as we know it. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...the coffee's on and the doughnuts are fresh!

One thought on “Something about a truck…

  1. .there’s something about a down to earth honest woman that make many a fashionesta just pale by comparison…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers